The proposed Relief Line South is a 7.5km long subway line that will connect the Yonge-University-Spadina Subway (Line 1) downtown to the Bloor-Danforth Subway (Line 2) at Pape Station. The Relief Line South will help to relieve crowding on Line 1 south of Bloor, at the Bloor-Yonge Station, and on the surface transit routes coming in and out of downtown.

The alignment as approved by City Council generally follows Queen Street, Eastern Avenue, Carlaw Avenue and Pape Avenue.

The project includes eight stations, including two interchange stations connecting to Line 1 at Osgoode (University Avenue) and Queen Stations (Yonge Street), and an interchange station connecting to Line 2 at Pape Station (Danforth Avenue). There will be two intermodal stations providing connections to the proposed Gerrard-Carlaw and East Harbour SmartTrack stations. Stations will also have connections to surface routes to provide transfers to local buses and streetcars.

The planning Relief Line South stations are as follows:

  • Pape Station (Interchange with Line 2)
  • Gerrard Station (Intermodal connection with proposed Gerrard Carlaw SmartTrack Station)
  • Carlaw Station at Queen Street East
  • Broadview Station (Intermodal connection with proposed East Harbour SmartTrack Station)
  • Sumach Station at King Street East/Eastern Avenue
  • Sherbourne Station at Queen Street East
  • Queen Station (Interchange with Line 1)
  • Osgoode Station (Interchange with Line 1).

The subway is proposed to be constructed using twin bore tunnel technology.